The Philistines : The Wax Fruit Trilogy

  • by Guy McCrone
  • Narrated by Lesley Mackie
  • Series: The Wax Fruit Trilogy
  • 7 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The entire Moorhouse family are now firmly established in Glasgow. The family business in the Candleriggs is a little slow, but the clan continues to be prosperous. Young Phoebe is engaged; Sophia, Mary and Bel's children are growing up and Arthur is engaging in some charity work. But the whole family is swiftly drawn into turmoil when the dashing and impulsive David falls in love with Lucy Rennie, a professional singer, whose career places her far beneath his family in the social order. Far worse is the fact that David is already engaged to the charms and riches of another...


What the Critics Say

"Here is the authentic stuff of life." (Times Literary Supplement)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An excellent read

I really enjoyed this book. The characters are believable and engaging and the book paints an interesting picture of life in Glasgow in Victorian times. It was also very clearly and expressively read. I would thoroughly recommend this book and am looking forward to reading the final book in the trilogy. It is a pity that the two other books Aunt Belle and The Hayburns are not available as audiobooks read by the same narrator.
Read full review

- D

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-05-2009
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books