The Return Journey

  • by Maeve Binchy
  • Narrated by Kate Binchy
  • 6 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this extraordinary collection of stories, the world-wide best-selling author of Evening Class once again reveals her incomparable understanding of matters of the heart. In The Return Journey, Maeve Binchy creates powerful compelling stories of love, loss, revelation, and reconciliation.A secretary's silent passion for her boss meets the acid test on a business trip; a man and a woman's mutual disdain at first sight shows how deceptive appearances can be; an insecure wife clings to the illusion of order, only to discover chaos at the hands of a house-sitter who opens the wrong doors; a pair of star-crossed travelers pick up each other's bags and then learn when you unlock a stranger's suitcase, you enter a stranger's life. These and many more poignant, ironic, often humorous stories - unforgettable slices of life - make up The Return Journey, a spellbinding trip into the human heart.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Return Journey

The late snd much mourned Maeve Binchy in classic form. Each story is an elegant little vignette, the characters are so well drawn that you care about the outcome but, at the same time each story is the perfect length. The stories are varied, some happy, some sad, none predictable. The art of the short story is a precise one, it is not the same as writing a full length novel, the author must be sparing in detail but put enough in to engage the reader. Maeve Binchy was one of those clever writers who had the gift of writing to such an extent that she could have written the blurb on a cereal packet and made it interesting. I am happy to say that these stories are Maeve Binchy at her best!
Read full review

- M. Price

Maeve's usual fare of home spun goodness.

It was the same old thing. but enjoyable nonetheless. if you like Maeve, you'll probably like this one.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-09-2009
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited