A Sweeping Saga
As the sole survivor of the car crash that killed her parents, grief-stricken paramedic Kit MacKlenna is stunned to learn her life is built on lies. A legacy from her father includes a faded letter and a well-worn journal. The journal reveals she was abandoned as a baby 160 years ago. The only clues to her identity are a blood-splattered shawl, a locket with the portrait of a 19th century man, and a Celtic brooch with magical powers. Kit decides to continue her father's 25-year search for her identity and solve her birth parents' murders.
Scotsman Cullen Montgomery, a San Francisco-bound lawyer who resembles the ghost who has haunted Kit since childhood, helps her join a wagon train heading west. More dangerous than the river crossings, bad water, and disease encountered on the trail is Cullen's determination to expose her lies and uncover the source of her unusual knowledge and lifesaving powers.
Kit is convinced that if she can survive the perilous journey and Cullen's accusations, as well as thwart his attempts to seduce her, she might solve the mystery of her heritage and return home without leaving her heart on the other side of time.
©2012 Katherine Lowry Logan (P)2015 Katherine Lowry Logan
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £23.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £23.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Kelly on 28-04-16

Good story

This was a good story, alot of sexual parts. I could not understand some of the concepts of the time travel parts, even for a advid time travel reader; it was hard to follow. Over all I would mind listening to the others in the series.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Mrs S R Madin on 04-04-16

outlander copycat

Listenable but didn't grab me,too much like Outlander, (handsome,strong,brave highlander, time travelling female with medical background and no living relatives ) and not as good.
first time I've heard a Scottish highlander with an Irish accent too !

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Sanny on 18-11-15

Missed opportunity.

Let's start with the good. It's an interesting story, and probably at least partially researched. It's not a horrible book, but it is way overwritten. Our Heroine is just not to be believed. She's a 21st century woman who goes back to the 19th century. All good. Except she's an EMT. And a wonderful sketch artist. Oh, and she can recognize every classical music piece that is played to her. Did I mention she plays the guitar? And she manages to do vascular surgery on a kid injured in the wagon train. And knows karate well enough to kill three men who attack her. And she's a crack shot with handgun and an automatic rifle. And of course she's a champion horse rider. And can quote Shakespeare and other classics, as well as Robbie Burns. And both she and her love interest seem to have infinite funds. He can take a wagon train to San Francisco, then take the first boat to Panama, without worry about finances? He went to San Francisco for a job, and yet he doesn't seem to concern himself with money. And don't forget that in the 1850s they all watch YouTube videos on a particular topic - presumably, she's just happened to load her iPod (solar charger, of course) with the ones they'd need. Blah blah blah. Just a bit too much. This is a time travel novel, so some suspension of disbelief is necessary, but the characters should be credible. The story is fun, but the telling of it just isn't there.

For those concerned about sex scenes, there are several. And they're all unnecessarily detailed. I like a good sex scene as much as the next person, but they need to serve a purpose. Those in this book do not. A simple fade to black would have been sufficient for the purpose. If he entered her as the sun set in a blazing fire in the sky one more time, I think I'd have murdered both of them myself.

If you listen to the audiobook, be prepared to hear composers' names mangled - Haydn pronounced "hay"den instead of "high"den, Wagner pronounced as the actor, Robert, not the composer, Richard. Many other annoying mispronunciations as well, which grate on the listeners' ears. And don't get me started on the various accents. The alleged Scottish burr of two main characters is a disaster! And since when is a Scotsman's oath of "och" pronounced with a "CH" instead of a "k"? As one reviewer said, the narrator doing the Scots accents sounds like she's herding Leprechauns. But the narrator is the least of the problems with this book.

Read more Hide me

144 of 155 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Barbara Fischer on 03-07-16

Ruby Brooch, Starting Series

This is an engrossing story. Read it all in 2 sessions. Anxious to start on next book.

Read more Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all reviews