The Runaway Children

  • by Sandy Taylor
  • Narrated by Alison Campbell
  • 11 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An unforgettable journey of two evacuee sisters during the Second World War - and their determination to stay together no matter what. 
London, 1942: Thirteen-year-old Nell and five-year-old Olive are being sent away from home to escape the devastation of the East End during the Blitz. Leaving behind their beloved mother and brothers, they don’t know if they will ever see them again. As the sisters adjust to their new life in a close-knit Welsh village, they gradually find hope in the friendships they make. And Nell kindles a special bond with fellow evacuee Jimmy, who makes her smile even at the hardest of times. But when little Olive’s safety is threatened, Nell makes a decision that will change their lives forever. They must run from danger and find their way home....
Together, through tears and laughter, the two sisters hold each other’s hands as they make an incredibly brave journey across war-torn England. Will they be reunited with the family they have missed for so many years? Or is there more heartache to come? 
A moving story of unconditional love, friendship and the fight for survival during a time of unimaginable change. This book is guaranteed to find a place in your heart. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train and The Girl With No Name.


Audible Editor Reviews

What the Critics Say

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story!!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I enjoyed the story and was able to understand the story, and i knew the area where she was talking about. (Eastbourne). I would recommend this book to anyone as it was such a great story.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Runaway Children?

The most memorable moment was when they went to seaview.

Have you listened to any of Alison Campbell’s other performances? How does this one compare?


Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The story made me laugh because of the acting.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A Must listen too.

Best so far from sandy Taylor.
Beautifully narrated by Alison Campbell.
A must listen too.
Read full review

- martin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-12-2017
  • Publisher: Bookouture