The Scent of Lemon Leaves

  • by Clara Sanchez
  • Narrated by Penelope Rawlins, Sean Baker
  • 13 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Five months pregnant and facing difficult decisions, 30-year-old Sandra leaves her job and her boyfriend to take stock of her life in her sister’s beach house on the Costa Brava. She befriends an elderly Norwegian couple, Karin and Fredrik, who provide her with stimulating company and take the place of the grandparents she never had. However, when she meets Julian, a former concentration-camp inmate who has just returned to Europe from Argentina, she discovers that all is not what it seems and finds herself involved in a perilous quest for the truth.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Slow and unsatisfying

The split narration is lovely and the translation adds quite a pleasant extra degree of surrealism as some of the turns of phrase are unusual. There are some very beautiful and believable moments but the story is extremely slow-moving and repetitive. The ending is quite peculiar and unsatisfying (and doesn't deliver an amazing twist as some reviews claim). The story mainly revolves around three locations in the same small town and there are far too many descriptions of what the characters are having to eat or drink. It held me just enough for me to persevere to the end, but I wasn't really looking forward to listening to it anymore.
Read full review

- R. Gladwin

The Scent of Lemon Leaves.

Having lived through World War 2, I found this story extremely poignant and totally believable.

The narration could not be bettered, and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to both voices.

At no time did I feel my interest wain and I would recommend this book to anyone.

It is a story of the need for revenge, but totally understandable given the circumstances.

Whether or not you have personal experience of the war, I feel sure you will enjoy listening to the story and the gentle voices of the narrators.
Read full review

- Stella

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-10-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Ltd