The Secrets Women Keep

  • by Fanny Blake
  • Narrated by Jane McDowell
  • 13 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Rose waits for her family to arrive at their villa in Tuscany when a casual glance at her husband's phone tips her world upside down. The text reads simply: 'Miss you. Love you. Come back soon.' Daniel has always been popular with women, she knows that. But until this moment she has had no cause for worry. Has something shifted within their marriage without her realising?
As the family gathers for the summer break, Rose's faith in Daniel is shaken. How well does she really know him? She fears that, after decades of marriage and children, the man who lies beside her at night is lying in other ways too. Then events take a tragic turn.
Wise, wry and richly entertaining, The Secrets Women Keep celebrates the passionate, emotional lives women lead as wives, mothers and grandmothers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ruined for me by the narration.

How could the performance have been better?

The narration spoiled this for me. On a casual listen, it sounded good. McDowell speaks clearly enough, if a little 'posh' for all of the characters, but that wasn't the problem. Unfortunately, her breaths, and the sound of swallowing wasn't edited out. Worse still, sentence pauses were wrong way too often, and the emphasis was frequently incorrect. I can't believe the puctuation in the draft she read from was bad enough to cause this. Surely she understands the difference between a comma and a full stop! I'm writing this part way through the book. I'm not sure if I can make it to the end.

Any additional comments?

This is a very well written tale of family dynamics. It includes, love, passion, anger, infidelity, the frailty of people, spoilt adult children and family rifts. The characters are well drawn and interesting. For me, due to the narration, its one to read, rather than listen too, but that won't necassarily be everyones experience.

Read full review

- Ann D

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-08-2014
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group