The Spring of the Ram : The House of Niccolo

  • by Dorothy Dunnett
  • Narrated by Gordon Griffin
  • Series: The House of Niccolo
  • 26 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1461, the mysterious Nicholas is in Florence. Backed by none other than Cosimo de' Medici, he will sail the Black Sea to Trebizond, last outpost of Byzantium, and the last jewel missing from the crown of the Ottoman Empire.
The Spring of the Ram is a blend of scholarship and narrative shimmering with the scents, sounds, colours and combustible emotions of the 15th century.


What the Critics Say

"Dorothy Dunnett takes readers with her into a fabulous past, using suspense and high adventure." (Sunday Telegraph)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another shot of brilliance!

Having read these books after The Lymond Chronicles a few years ago, they were never to be forgotten, I thought, but now I realise just how much more is to be gained by listening to them by an experienced narrator. It was a revelation!

At first, I thought Gordon Griffin's voice should have been slightly younger but after the first book I realized just how proficient he is and settled in nicely. The knowledge and pleasure I felt was immeasurable and I could not put it down. I even read pieces from my Kindle/Laptop but I could not bring myself to go further on to the location when back on my Tab; the words were far too precious!

On to book 3!

Read full review

- Kristin

Riveting read

A complex and fascinating story, very well read, will give you many hours of listening pleasure. The growth of the characters, first introduced inNiccolo Rising, the end of an ancient empire, personal rivalries and shifting patterns of trade and politics give the story strength and depth. Listen and become hooked on Dorothy Dunnett's fully researched and realised fifteenth century world. Then move pn to her magical Lympnd books.
Read full review

- Bettym

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-02-2014
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks