The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Other Tales of the Macabre

  • by Ambrose Bierce, Robert Louis Stevenson, Fitz-James O'Brien, Guy de Maupassant, F Marion Crawford
  • Narrated by Jim Killavey, Walter Covell, Jack Benson, John L Chatty
  • 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Robert Louis Stevenson's The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is one of the best tales of the macabre ever written. It is presented here in its entirety, along with eight other incredible tales, including:

"The Wolf" by Guy de Maupassant
"The Boarded Window" by Ambrose Bierce
"The Horla" by Guy de Maupassant
"What Was It?" by Fitz-James O'Brien
"The Judge's House" by Bram Stoker
"History of the Young Man with Spectacles" by Arthur Machen
"The Wondersmith" by Fitz-James O'Brien
"The Upper Berth" by F. Marion Crawford


Audible Editor Reviews

Before the Twilight Zone, the films of Hitchcock, and the music of Nick Cave, that human compulsion to wander awhile in the darkness was satisfied by some of the greatest minds ever to put pen to paper. This audiobook original presents a selection of haunted stories from the late Victorian era and performed by a cast of vocal legends, including Walter Covell and Jack Benson.
The selection begins with the psychological horror of that split personality, the infamous Dr. Jekyll, and finishes with a horrific tale of a haunted schooner, "The Upper Berth", by F. Marion Crawford. Along the way, the listener is treated to the twisted minds of Ambrose Bierce, Bram Stoker, and other undisputed masters of the macabre. This is Halloween for your ears.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Hard going

I bought this to listen with my teenage son. May be it is narrated by someone for whom English is not their first language as the the pronounciation of several words is wrong and confusing. It sounds as though it is a 'robot' reading the story. No emotion and generally we found it hard going to listen to. For a first book this is not a good choice. Give it a miss!
Read full review

- D

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-01-2008
  • Publisher: Jimcin Recordings