The Walworth Beauty

  • by Michèle Roberts
  • Narrated by Jenny Coverak
  • 12 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson.
2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.
1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure - and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house.
As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other - a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head - the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michele Roberts at her masterful best.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful story

I love Michele Roberts' work.
I highly recommend this novel

I haven't given the reading 5* because my audible copy was muffled
The performance was great, I think it was something to do with the recording
Read full review

- Earthymama

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-04-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios