The Whale Road

  • by Robert Low
  • Narrated by David Rintoul
  • 6 hrs and 9 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn, so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood, and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder. But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious "White Christ" are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the "whale road", toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together. A significant new voice in historical fiction, Robert Low has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, The Whale Road is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant book broodingly broadcast by Rintaul

I am a lover of Robert Low's intelligent yet bloody Viking sagas. But I wondered how his rich tales would translate audibly. So I gave his David Rintaul-read Whale Road a try. Rintaul's Scots voice is charismatic,characterful and Viking enough for me. His theatrical, engaging delivery was a joy to listen to: from capturing the brooding hero Orm, to brutal battles and Low's bountiful insights to the Viking world. I recommend it thoroughly, and wish that more of Low's Oathsworn books would be recorded by Rintaul!

Read full review

- Rob

A good Viking saga!

Good story, historically sound and well performed. Took a bit to engage with initially but worth it: a satisfying listen well worth 5 stars.
Read full review

- Dave Coleman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-11-2007
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited