The Winter Ghosts

  • by Kate Mosse
  • Narrated by Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • 5 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

March 1928. The Great War has been over for 10 years, but Freddie still hasn't recovered from the loss of his brother. Even now, on holiday in south-west France, he cannot escape his grief.When his car crashes, Freddie stumbles down from the hills to a village nearby. There he meets Marie, a beautiful young woman who is also mourning a lost generation.Her story of the fate of her family moves him deeply. But it will also lead Freddie to the caves above the village - and to the heart of a shocking secret. By turns thrilling, poignant and haunting, this is a story of two lives touched by war and transformed by courage.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good reader shame about the book

I am always reluctant to leave a negative review for anything; after all people have worked hard to produce something which I myself could not do, why then cast aspersions? I do so on this occasion principally because I wish to save any other trusting soul from wasting a good credit and 5 hours of their life on this wearisome tosh.

Marketed as ghost story it is less frightening or shocking than just plain dull; the characters are never more than two dimensional and the sentiments expressed never less than trite. This is the first book by Kate Mosse that I have ever read or listened to and it will be the last. I only thank my stars that I started with a novella rather than one of her epic novels!
Read full review

- Charles

excellent reader

I gave this review 3 out of 5 stars only because if you've read Kate Mosse's Sepulchre and Labyrinth, you know the formula for this book. If you're a fan--it's worth the read. I was disappointed that the book was so short--pretty much a glorified short story. The reader, however, does an INCREDIBLE job and really brings the story to life. Definitely worth an Audible credit, I just wish the book was longer.
Read full review

- Siobhan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-10-2009
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited