The Wolf's Gold: Empire V : Empire (Riches)

  • by Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Empire (Riches)
  • 13 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fresh from their victory in Germania, Marcus Aquila and the Tungrians have been sent to Dacia, on the northeastern edge of the Roman Empire, with the mission to safeguard a major source of imperial power. The mines of Alburnus Major contain enough gold to pave the road to Rome. They would make a mighty prize for the marauding Sarmatae tribesmen who threaten the province, and the outnumbered auxiliaries are entrusted with their safety in the face of a barbarian invasion. Beset by both the Sarmatian horde and more subtle threats offered by men who should be their comrades, the Tungrians must also come to terms with the danger posed by a new and unexpected enemy. They will have to fight to the death to save the honour of the empire - and their own skins.


What the Critics Say

"Some authors are better historians than they are storytellers. Anthony Riches is brilliant at both." (Conn Iggulden)
"A damn fine, action-packed." (Ben Kane)
"Stands head and shoulders above a crowded field.... [R]eal, live characters act out their battles on the northern borders with an accuracy of detail and depth of raw emotion that is a rare combination." (Manda Scott)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another Great Read

What did you like most about The Wolf's Gold: Empire V?

I love the whole series, not just this one.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Wolf's Gold: Empire V?

The finale!

What does Saul Reichlin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Excellent reader,brings the characters to life.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Too many.

Any additional comments?

Highly recommend the whole series.

Read full review


Fast moving action

This was my first audio book and I was pleased with my choice. If you have not yet listened to a book in this media do so at your earliest opportunity. Thank you Anthony Riches for this excellent story.
Read full review

- James Rawlinson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-10-2012
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton