This Was a Man : Clifton Chronicles

  • by Jeffrey Archer
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • Series: Clifton Chronicles
  • 12 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Pulling together all the threads that he weaved so expertly throughout the previous six stories, this is the last portion of Jeffrey Archer's enthralling series about the lives and loves of the Clifton family.
This Was a Man opens with a shot being fired, but who pulled the trigger, and who lives, and who dies?
In Whitehall, Giles Barrington discovers the truth about his wife, Karin, from the Cabinet Secretary. Is she a spy or a pawn in a larger game?
Harry Clifton sets out to write his magnum opus while his wife, Emma, completes her 10 years as Chairman of the Bristol Royal Infirmary and receives an unexpected call from Margaret Thatcher offering her a job.
Sebastian Clifton becomes chairman of Farthings Kaufman bank, but only after Hakim Bishara has to resign for personal reasons. Sebastian and Samantha's talented daughter, Jessica, is expelled from the Slade School of Fine Art, but her aunt Grace comes to her rescue.
Meanwhile, Lady Virginia is about to flee the country to avoid her creditors when the Duchess of Hertford dies, and she sees another opportunity to clear her debts and finally trump the Cliftons and Barringtons.
In a devastating twist, tragedy engulfs the Clifton family when one of them receives a shocking diagnosis that will throw all their lives into turmoil.
This Was a Man is the captivating final instalment of the Clifton Chronicles, a series of seven novels that has topped the bestseller lists around the world and enhanced Jeffrey Archer's reputation as a master storyteller.


See More Like This

Related Videos

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Highly entertaining rollicking melodrama

I’ve listened to the previous six books in the Clifton Chronicles and this finale is one of the best. Snobbishly I think that Jeffrey Archer isn’t Graham Greene but by golly he can tell a story that keeps one on tenterhooks eager to find out what happens next. He has created some memorable characters not least Lady Veronica the Machavelli of the series: utterly over-the-top in her exploits but hugely entertaining as she seems to succeed in her plots only to be thwarted. It’s great stuff and I’m sorry that the series has ended in the 1990s as the next generation of Cliftons and Barringtons are developing into interesting characters. Maybe the next series will be the Barrington Chronicles? I hope so as it’s great fun to listen to good old fashioned story-telling in which good is pitted against evil and good eventually wins for a change. I also enjoy the inclusion of historical events and real people which adds colour and interest to the narrative. The author's inside knowledge of parliament and prison life lends veracity to many events in the book.

Alex Jennings is one of the best narrators around and makes the series even more enjoyable.

I would recommend starting at the beginning of the series and following the books chronologically as getting to know the characters, and following the progression of their lives, adds to the pleasure.
Read full review

- Kirstine

This was a man

I have listened to the Clifton Chronicles in turn and become attached to each family member therein.
Another excellent book which left me in tears!
Thank you Jeffrey Archer.
Read full review

- antoinette

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-11-2016
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.