Turn Up for the Book

  • by Julia Franklin
  • Narrated by Julia Franklin
  • 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a debut novel from actress and audiobook reader Julia Franklin. ‘I’ve read somewhere between 300 and 400 novels as audiobooks over the last 25 years,’ she says, ‘so I thought it was time to have a go at a novel of my own.’ The result is Turn Up for the Book, a romantic comedy that begins with the breakup, one Christmas, of a marriage.
Poor Viv has begun to look like the sofa she sits on most of the time. No wonder her unfaithful husband, Clive, is leaving her for a glamorous supermodel. But over the next 12 months, she will find that books and friendship will move her to a different kind of sofa altogether. Set against a background of publishing, food, and drink, oh yes, and maybe murder, Turn Up for the Book is a lovely lighthearted companion to warm you on dark winter evenings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A delightful debut!

Viv's husband has left her for the seductive and beautiful Ursula and she is trying to cope with her two children, her job in the local bookshop, her weight and her general depression. Her friend Ruth was in the same position several years earlier and with her help Viv tries to improve her lot. How she manages forms the basis of a very funny and yet sympathetic story. We meet the unfaithful husbands, Clive and Keith, Viv's employer Irene (one of the best monstrous creations in romantic fiction) and learn to hate Ursula! Julia Franklin has written a super debut novel and she reads it with her usual charm and ability. I hope that this is only her first book.
Read full review

- Jill Besterman


Great fun, we've all met many of these lovable, strange and ghastly characters. Absolutely loved Julia's wonderful range of voices, the way she manages to keep them all separate from each other is remarkable. Hurry, please, with another story in a similar vein.
Read full review

- Loraine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-09-2011
  • Publisher: Books Are Loud