Uncle Fred in the Springtime : Blandings Castle

  • by P. G. Wodehouse
  • Narrated by Jonathan Cecil
  • Series: Blandings Castle
  • 7 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Uncle Fred is one of the hottest earls who ever donned a coronet. Or as he crisply puts it, 'There are no limits, literally none, to what I can achieve in the springtime.'
Even so, his gifts are stretched to the limit when he is urged by Lord Emsworth to save his prize pig, the Empress of Blandings, from the enforced slimming cure of the haughty Duke of Dunstable. Pongo Twistleton knows his debonair but wild uncle shouldn't really be allowed at large - especially when disguised as a brain surgeon. He fears the worst. And in yet another brilliant novel by the master of English comedy, Pongo will soon find his fears are amply justified.


What the Critics Say

"Hilarious....Jonathan Cecil succeeds all around, reading expressively and slowly....Immensely enjoyable listening." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Had me laughing out loud!

Firstly I have to mention that I love all things Wodehouse. Uncle Fred in the Springtime is in fact one of my favourite Wodehouse books. I am guessing that most people who download this audio book will likewise be Wodehouse fans, so I don't have to mention the intricate plot, and indeed plots within plots, and general pig stealing shenanigans, all of this will be familiar territory to the legions of loyal fans. What I must say is terrific though, is the narration by Jonathan Cecil. He is perfect! He really becomes all those characters and his voice is somehow so completely suited to what he is reading. I look forward to downloading all the Wodehouse novels that Jonathan Cecil has narrated.
Read full review

- Susan

A complete joy...

The witty prose and eccentric characters of Wodehouse brought to life in a wonderful reading by Jonathan Cecil. Guaranteed to spread sweetness and light!
Read full review

- Slim Chances

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-09-2005
  • Publisher: Audible Studios