Under a Pole Star

  • by Stef Penney
  • Narrated by Cathleen McCarron, Thomas Judd
  • 20 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Costa-winning author Stef Penney returns to the wild Arctic setting she brought so vividly to life in The Tenderness of Wolves in an epic story of ambition, perseverance and love against the odds. Perfect for fans of To the Bright Edge of the World and The Essex Serpent.
Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of 12. In 1889 the whaler's daughter from Dundee - dubbed by the press 'The Snow Queen' - sets out to become a scientist and explorer. She struggles to be taken seriously, but determination and chance lead her back to Northern Greenland at the head of a British expedition despite the many who believe that a young woman has no place in this harsh world of men.
Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition led by the furiously driven Lester Armitage. When Jakob and Flora's paths cross, it is a fateful meeting. All three become obsessed with the north, a place where violent extremes exist side by side: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows; heroism and lies. Armitage's ruthless desire to be the true leader of polar discovery takes him and his men on a mission whose tragic outcome will reverberate for years to come.
Set against the stark, timeless beauty of Northern Greenland and fin-de-siècle New York and London, Under a Pole Star is a compelling look at the dark side of the golden age of exploration, a study of the corrosive power of ambition and an epic, incendiary love story. It shows that sometimes you have to travel to the furthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it.

More

What the Critics Say

"A supreme storyteller." (Sunday Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not sure

Well I'm not sure if I did or didn't like this book.
I certainly wasn't rushing to finish it.
It felt like listening to soft porn disguised as a book about a travelling.
The constant sex scenes became boring and unnecessary.
Would of liked more about her actual experiences exploring the North Pole.
Read full review

- Ms. L. V. Hurley

Excessively long and numerous passages of sex spoil an entertaining story well told

Such a shame! Lovely evocative passages describing the polar landscape, fascinating insights into Inuit culture, unexplained deaths and a love story running through it all. So many elements that could have made a wonderful novel. But I have never read a book with so much, such prolonged and such explicit sex. Of course it's a powerful component of the lovers' story, but a substantial edit of all of their sexual encounters wouldn't affect the reader's sympathy for or understanding of their story and would have made the novel a considerably better read for me.

I nearly gave up on this book four or five times. Certainly not recommended for younger readers...
Read full review

- Clare

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-11-2016
  • Publisher: Quercus