Vivat Rex: Volume 2

  • by William Shakespeare, Christopher Marlowe, Ben Jonson, Martin Jenkins
  • Narrated by full cast, Richard Burton
  • 12 hrs and 35 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Richard Burton narrates the second volume of this famous dramatic chronicle of the English Crown, a treasure of the BBC radio archive published in audiobook for the very first time.
Vivat Rex is the landmark drama series first broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 1977. Over the course of 26 instalments, each one narrated by Richard Burton with a full cast, the fortunes of the English Crown are followed through 225 years of British history, from Edward II’s accession in 1307 to the birth of Elizabeth I.
Each drama is adapted by Martin Jenkins from the works of Shakespeare, Marlowe, and their Elizabethan contemporaries.This second volume features the final 13 instalments, beginning with Martin Jarvis as Henry V and concluding with the birth of Elizabeth I. Vivat Rex includes a stirring musical score by Christopher Whelen.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very good

This is an excellent BBC radio series. The stories are good, and the casting is excellent.
Read full review

- Andyjn

A 'must listen to' download.

This, along with volume one, make more than 24 hours of the best history. It covers 200 years ending with the birth of Elizabeth I ( no that isn't a spoiler...after all, it is history).

Well written, well cast and well presented all round.
Read full review

- Rufus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-04-2015
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd