Vivat Rex: Volume One (Dramatisation)

  • by William Shakespeare, Christopher Marlowe, Ben Jonson, Martin Jenkins
  • Narrated by Richard Burton, Full Cast
  • 12 hrs and 41 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Richard Burton narrates this famous dramatic chronicle of the English Crown, a treasure of the BBC radio archive published on audible for the very first time.
Vivat Rex is the landmark drama series first broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 1977. Over the course of 26 instalments, each one narrated by Richard Burton with a full cast, the fortunes of the English Crown are followed through 225 years of British history, from Edward II’s accession in 1307 to the birth of Elizabeth I.
This first volume includes the first 13 instalments, beginning with John Hurt’s portrayal of Edward II. The stellar cast includes John Hurt, Paul Eddington, Keith Michell, Derek Jacobi, Michael Redgrave, Maureen O’Brien, Patrick Troughton, Timothy West, Robert Hardy, Martin Jarvis, Anthony Quayle, Robert Harris, Robert Powell, June Whitfield, Roy Dotrice, Billie Whitelaw and Colin Baker.
Each drama is adapted by Martin Jenkins from the works of Shakespeare, Marlowe and their Elizabethan contemporaries, and each includes a stirring musical score by Christopher Whelen. Also included in this collection are bonus interviews with Vivat Rex writer, producer and director, Martin Jenkins, studio manager Enyd Williams and actor Martin Jarvis, first broadcast on BBC Radio 4 Extra.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awesome Listening

A stunning big name cast bring this history saga to brilliant life. I was enthralled from the beginning and found myself making time to listen during my days.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Very impressive performances.

Loved it. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in historical dramas. If you like this then try the Plantagenet series.
Read full review

- Rufus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-02-2015
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide