War Brides

  • by Helen Bryan
  • Narrated by Tavia Gilbert
  • 13 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As war moves ever closer, the sleepy English village of Crowmarsh Priors settles into a new sort of normal: Evacuees from London are billeted in local homes. The nightly German air raids become grimly mundane. Rationing curtails every comfort. Men leave to fight and die. And five women forge a bond of friendship that will change their lives forever in this engrossing novel of loyalty, loss, and love in the shadow of World War II.
With the hardships of war intensifying every day, the women band together to defeat formidable enemies and find remarkable strength within themselves to help one another. It is a war-forged loyalty certain to endure years and distance. When four of the women return for a celebration 50 years later, their mission is not simply to commemorate or remember. They’ve returned to confront a traitor whose actions cost countless lives — and to avenge one of their own at last.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Really enjoyable story

I thoroughly enjoyed this story and glad I stuck with it. However, I hate to say anything derogatory about narrators because I think they do a fantastic job, but this one - oh dear, she is obbviously American and her own accent was fine. Her english accents were dreadful, so much so, that if the story had not been enjoyable I would have given up. It was a shame really if she had just read it in her own accent all the way through it would probably have been better.
Read full review

- WmL

Why the terrible American narration?

This story was set outside the USA apart from the first 20 mins or so. But we had to put up with the most dreadful attempts by an American narrator who had to master cockney, posh aristocrat, Sussex burr amongst many other accents. Truly dire. There are so many good British narrators and this narration ruined a really good story.
Read full review

- Katie Whitmore

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-06-2012
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio