Wilderness and Other Stories : Innocence

  • by Dean Koontz
  • Narrated by Dick Hill, MacLeod Andrews, Will Damron, Tanya Eby
  • Series: Innocence
  • 13 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"The world is a machine that produces endless surprises and mysteries layered on mysteries."

"Wilderness," a darkly intriguing short story first published as an e-book original, was written as prelude to Dean Koontz's novel of mystery, suspense, and strange wonder - Innocence.
Addison Goodheart was born in an isolated home surrounded by a deep forest, never known to his father, kept secret from everyone but his mother, who barely accepts him. Only in the woods, among the wildlife, is Addison truly welcome. Only there can he be at peace. Until the day he first knows terror, the day when his life changes radically and forever....
Twelve of the other fourteen short stories and novelettes included in this audio anthology were most recently reissued in a print collection entitled Strange Highways, published by Warner Books (1995). The other two - "The Scariest Thing I Know" (2000) first published in Martha Stewart Living magazine and "Hostage Situation" (2009) in The New York Times Summer Thriller series.

Only the short work "Down in the Darkness," has ever been produced for audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very Enjoyable Collection

Where does Wilderness and Other Stories rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

A solid 8/10 in the horror/thriller short story collections. However, these are barely horror if you're looking for linger scares.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

It's got a good pace, some short and sweet, some longer stories.

Any additional comments?

Many of these stories feel like they should be made into larger tales.

Read full review

- Ian

I enjoyed all of the story's some made my laugh

enjoyed all the story's .very much. some made me laugh .worth a second read .
Read full review

- jean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-08-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio