Wonder : Wonder

  • by R J Palacio
  • Narrated by Diana Steele, Nick Podehl, Kate Rudd
  • Series: Wonder
  • 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Soon to be a major film starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson and Jacob Tremblay.
'My name is August. I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.'
Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things - eating ice cream, playing on his Xbox. He feels ordinary - inside. But ordinary kids don't make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids aren't stared at wherever they go. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life. Now, for the first time, he's being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted - but can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all?
Wonder is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story- shame about the narrator!

What made the experience of listening to Wonder the most enjoyable?

I loved the fact that it was told by the point of view of different characters. Very interesting

Would you be willing to try another one of the narrators’s performances?

No way! The main character August's narrator had such an annoying voice!! I suggest you listen to the preview first!

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No emotional attachment, but it was good. I wouldnt bother to read it again.

Any additional comments?

Not a bad book, just bad readers! The main characters narrator was just terrible - be warned! If you can see past that then give it a go. It has sad moments, happy moments and the story isnt complicated. It just plods along at a good pace.

Read full review

- Mrs A

So far from wonderful

What did you like best about Wonder? What did you like least?

After all the amazing reviews, I was looking forward to this, but it left me cold.

Would you recommend Wonder to your friends? Why or why not?

No. The main character was annoying self-centred and whiny.

Would you listen to another book narrated by the narrators?


Was Wonder worth the listening time?

No. I actually tried to listen to this several times, and I finally got about two thirds of the way through before I gave up with a sigh of relief.

Any additional comments?

Yes, I understand that Auggie's two syndromes make his life unbelievably hard, but he's such a whiner that I wanted to throttle him. He doesn't like it if people look at him. Or if they don't look at him. He claims to want to be treated normally, but then blames everyone around him for not treating him with kid gloves. He blames everyone else for everything. Thoroughly unpleasant and I have no idea how this got so many good reviews.

Read full review

- Susan M.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2012
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks