World of Wonders : Deptford Trilogy

  • by Robertson Davies
  • Narrated by Marc Vietor
  • Series: Deptford Trilogy
  • 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hailed by the Washington Post Book World as a "modern classic", Robertson Davies' acclaimed Deptford Trilogy is a glittering, fantastical, cunningly contrived series of novels, around which a mysterious death is woven.
World of Wonders, the third book in the series after The Manticore, follows the story of Magnus Eisengrim - the most illustrious magician of his age - who is spirited away from his home by a member of a traveling sideshow, the Wanless World of Wonders. After honing his skills and becoming better known, Magnus unfurls his life's courageous and adventurous tale in this third and final volume of a spectacular, soaring work.


What the Critics Say

"One of the splendid literary enterprises of this decade." (Newsweek)
"Robertson Davies is one of the great modern novelists." (Malcolm Bradbury, The Sunday Times, London)
"Robertson Davies is a novelist whose books are thick and rich with humor, character and incident. They are plotted with skill and much flamboyance." (The Observer)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I read the Deptford Trilogy 35 years ago and remembered enjoying it but little else. Have just finished listening to the final book World of Wonders and it has surpassed my expectations. Robertson Davies has a playful touch yet deals with important issues. The novels have not dated one bit. There were times during the first novel that the narrator grated a little but by World of Wonders he did not intrude - despite an atrocious Scottish accent! Very enjoyable
Read full review

- Trisha

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-12-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios