• by Cat Winters
  • Narrated by Xe Sands
  • 8 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author of The Uninvited comes a haunting historical novel with a compelling mystery at its core.
A young child psychologist steps off a train, her destination a foggy seaside town. There she begins a journey causing her to question everything she believes about life, death, memories, and reincarnation.
In 1925 Alice Lind steps off a train in the rain-soaked coastal hamlet of Gordon Bay, Oregon. There she expects to do nothing more difficult than administer IQ tests to a group of rural schoolchildren. A trained psychologist, Alice believes mysteries of the mind can be unlocked scientifically, but now her views are about to be challenged by one curious child.
Seven-year-old Janie O'Daire is a mathematical genius, which is surprising. But what is disturbing are the stories she tells: that her name was once Violet, she grew up in Kansas decades earlier, and she drowned at age 19. Alice delves into these stories, at first believing they're no more than the product of the girl's vast imagination. But slowly Alice comes to the realization that Janie might indeed be telling a strange truth.
Alice knows the investigation may endanger her already shaky professional reputation, and as a woman in a field dominated by men she has no room for mistakes. But she is unprepared for the ways it will illuminate terrifying mysteries within her own past and, in the process, irrevocably change her life.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio