Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

  • by Dave Eggers
  • Narrated by Mark Deakins, Rebecca Lowman, Michelle Gonzalez, John H. Mayer, Kate McGregor-Stewart, Bruce Turk, Marc Cashman
  • 5 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him.
Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. Thomas didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now Thomas has a few questions.

More

What the Critics Say

"Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? stretches...toying with literary forms to new lengths...compelling." (Evening Standard)
"Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation." (Independent)
"An angry and astute investigation into the state of America... Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola" (Mark Lawson, Guardian)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not overly impressed

I'm glad I read this as an audiobook, because the performances were pretty good. Other than that, I wasn't impressed - the whole thing was heavy handed as subtle as a brick. It's a shame because I used to like Eggers, but now it all feels so try hard.
Read full review

- Carys Kennedy

Thought provoking

The only reason this didn't get a five was the ending....I thought it was weak. That said I thoroughly enjoyed the dialogue between Thomas, a somewhat narcissistic displaced character, and his captives. Some of the exchanges were thought provoking. I will read this again.
Read full review

- rachel rowarth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-02-2015
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks