Charlotte Pollard Series 01

  • by Jonathan Barnes, Matt Fitton
  • Narrated by India Fisher, Michael Maloney, Anneke Wills, Terrence Hardiman, James Joyce
  • 5 hrs and 30 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Charlotte Pollard's adventures are over. She escaped death aboard the R101 and travelled in time and space - but now in the service of the monolithic, unknowable Viyrans, their unending mission is stifling her.
An encounter with would-be adventurer Robert Buchan near the mysterious Ever-and-Ever-Prolixity provides the opportunity Charley needs for escape.... So the adventuress is abroad once more, meeting a lost expedition in uncharted forests, solving enigmas and hoping beyond hope to see the people she misses most: her family. But Charley cannot run forever.
The Viyrans know the power of the Lamentation Cipher, and they have a solution...for everything.

Part one: 'The Lamentation Cipher'
Part two: 'The Shadow at the Edge of the World'
Part three: 'The Fall of the House of Pollard'
Part four: 'The Viyran Solution'

Written by Jonathan Barnes and Matt Fitton. Directed by Nicholas Briggs.


What the Critics Say

"Showcases Big Finish's talent for space opera...." (Paul Simpson, SFB)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Didn't really float my boat

It's a bit like Hitchhiker's Guide, but without the satire. I liked Matt Fitton's other work, but Charlotte Pollard just didn't do it for me -- I'm not really sure why. The presentation and sound effects are very Hitchhiker-esque, and the plot ideas equally silly. The difference, I guess, is that Douglas Adams used the silliness to satirize the human condition, while here it's just, well, silly.
Read full review

- Kevin Boone

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-07-2016
  • Publisher: Big Finish Productions