• Mark Steel's In Town: Series 1 & 2

  • The BBC Radio 4 Comedy Series
  • By: Mark Steel
  • Narrated by: Mark Steel
  • Length: 5 hrs and 35 mins
  • Radio/TV Programme
  • Release date: 02-06-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Penguin Random House UK
  • 5 out of 5 stars 4.9 (76 ratings)


In each episode of this BBC Radio 4 series Mark Steel visits a UK town and researches its history, heritage and culture, after which he performs a bespoke evening of comedy for the local residents.
Mark's destinations in Series 1 & 2 are Skipton; Boston; Lewes; Walsall; Merthyr Tydfil; Portland; Dartford; Wilmslow; Dumfries; Penzance; Gateshead and Kirkwall.
Duration: 6 hours approx.
©2016 Mark Steel (P)2016 Penguin Random House UK
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £17.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £17.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By John on 12-12-17

Funny and insightful

Enjoyed this a lot. Interesting facts blended with comedy. So bought the series 3/4 and 5/6 too

Read more Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Olive on 20-11-16

Fun and moreish!

Mark Steele has the knack of getting to the heart of every community he visits. He teases affectionately about past and present absurdities, revealing surprising details about Britain and the British along the way. This series is the perfect accompaniment to boring motorway driving. Am buying the rest!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews