The Complete Talking Heads

  • by Alan Bennett
  • Narrated by Alan Bennett, Patricia Routledge
  • 7 hrs and 22 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

The complete audio collection of Alan Bennett's celebrated monologues, published together for the first time and performed by some of Britain's best actors.
The Talking Heads monologues are widely regarded as one of Alan Bennett's finest dramatic achievements. First broadcast on BBC TV and BBC Radio 4 in the 1980s and 1990s, they won a host of awards and huge popular acclaim and remain among his most admired works today.
This collection includes all twelve Talking Heads, plus the precursor of that series, 'A Woman of No Importance'.
Beautifully crafted and full of compassion and wry observation, each tale is ripe with the quirky, insightful detail that has become Bennett's trademark. The monologues are: 'A Woman of No Importance' (Patricia Routledge); 'A Chip in the Sugar' (Alan Bennett); 'A Lady of Letters' (Patricia Routledge); 'Bed Among the Lentils' (Anna Massey); 'Soldiering On' (Stephanie Cole); 'Her Big Chance' (Julie Walters); 'A Cream Cracker Under the Settee' (ThoraHird); 'Miss Fozzard Finds Her Feet' (Patricia Routledge); 'The Hand of God' (Eileen Atkins); 'Playing Sandwiches' (David Haig); 'The Outside Dog' (Julie Walters); 'Nights in the Gardens of Spain' (Penelope Wilton) and 'Waiting for the Telegram' (Thora Hird).
Intensely moving, deeply engrossing and highly entertaining, these spellbinding soliloquies are essential listening.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Bleak but brilliant!

Fantastic writing read so well, so much of the story is in what is not said but it's easy to read between the lines. Don't listen when you are feeling down though as it may finish you off!
Read full review

- Laura


Great stories read by wonderful actors.I loved all of them.Very touching but also very funny.
Read full review

- fiona

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-10-2015
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd.