The History of Titus Groan

  • by Mervyn Peake
  • 5 hrs and 41 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Paul Rhys, Miranda Richardson and Carl Prekopp star in this major six-part BBC Radio Classic Serial based on the writings of Mervyn Peake and Maeve Gilmore.
The life and times of Titus Groan, 77th Earl of Gormenghast - a vast stronghold of crumbling masonry steeped in immemorial ritual and inhabited by an extraordinary cavalcade of characters including the kitchen boy, Steerpike, who ruthlessly rises to the upper echelons of dynastic power through mischief and murder.
Based on the novels written by Mervyn Peake and on the recently discovered concluding volume, ‘Titus Alone’, written by his widow, the six one-hour episodes chronicle Titus’ life from birth, through childhood and adolescence to his decision to renounce his title and embark on an exploration of the alien world beyond the confines of his home. It is a journey in search of identity that eventually takes him to a distant island where he encounters the man who is none other than his creator. The Gormenghast trilogy is both a powerful and unique fantasy and a satirical allegory on the fancies, foibles and phobias of the world around us, and this BBC Radio production brings Peake’s extraordinary imagination to vivid life. Featuring a star cast including James Fleet, Tamsin Greig and Olivia Hallinan, it was dramatised for radio by Brian Sibley. The series was produced by Jeremy Mortimer.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Flavour of Peake

A great listen. It works as a stand alone piece or an introduction to the world of Gormenghast. I enjoy it a little more on each listen. Good stuff!
Read full review

- David C

One of the greatest radio pieces

Would you listen to The History of Titus Groan again? Why?

This is a brilliant performance of material that is transfixing to the listener. In this classic serial the production team excelled themselves.

Any additional comments?

I can't recommend it highly enough.

Read full review

- Petrus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2011
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited