The Scarifyers: The Nazad Conspiracy : The Scarifyers

  • by Simon Barnard
  • Narrated by Nicholas Courtney, Terry Molloy
  • Series: The Scarifyers
  • 1 hrs and 24 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

The Scarifyers is a series of rip-roaring tales of comedic supernatural intrigue set in 1930s Britain, distilling the likes of Dick Barton, The Avengers, The Devil Rides Out and Quatermass into cracking new audio adventures. The Scarifyers is broadcast on BBC Radio 4 Extra, and has been described as 'rollicking good fun', 'a slice of audio perfection', 'the smartest and most enjoyable thing on British radio' and 'like Tintin but with the lights out.'
This is the first Scarifyers adventure.Christmas 1936. Ghost story writer Professor Dunning (Terry Molloy) doesn't believe in the supernatural.
So he's more than surprised when an invisible winged demon appears in his drawing room.The Metropolitan Police's longest-serving officer, Inspector Lionheart (Nicholas Courtney), doesn't believe in the supernatural either, wings or no wings.
So he's less than impressed when Russian emigres begin dying impossible deaths all over London.Together, Lionheart and Dunning must face quarrelsome Generals, sinister clowns and Russian demons as they unravel The Nazad Conspiracy.


What the Critics Say

"Rollicking good fun" (Radio Times)
"Quite simply the smartest and most enjoyable thing on British radio." (TV Zone)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

found the music in the middle a bit irritating.

overall good light listening. Try to buy it on offer though because I think it was a bit expensive full price.
Read full review

- Suz

Well, that was fun

This was a very amusing ripping yarn. A fun plot, with nods in the directions of M R James and of Doctor Who, excellently voiced by Nicholas Courtney and by Terry Molloy (who sounds very like Derek Jacobi to me). Ludicrous, but fun.,and I found myself smiling almost all the way through.
Read full review

- Devon reader

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-01-2012
  • Publisher: Bafflegab Productions