Alcohol Explained

  • by William Porter
  • Narrated by Nick Jermyn
  • 6 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alcohol Explained is the definitive, ground-breaking guide to alcohol and alcoholism. It explains how alcohol affects human beings on a chemical, physiological, and psychological level, from those first drinks right up to chronic alcoholism. Alcoholism and problem drinking seems illogical to those on the outside; indeed, it is equally perplexing for the alcoholic or problem drinker. This audiobook provides a logical, easy-to-follow explanation of the phenomenon and detailed instructions on how to beat it. Despite being entirely scientific and factual in nature, the audiobook is presented in an accessible and easily understandable format.
For more information and to read the first five chapters for free, please visit
"This is an excellent book written by an inquisitive and educated author who during a period of his life suffered from alcoholism. The book explains in an easily understood language the various effects that alcohol has on our body. In my opinion the text would serve as a great handbook not only for those struggling with alcohol but also medical students as part of their education. I am sure some of my own patients troubled with alcoholism in recent years could have benefited from reading William’s book and I will be recommending it going forward." - Håvard Molvik, MD, MRCS, MSc, MRCGP


Audible Editor Reviews

What the Critics Say

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This book is a must for anyone looking to stop drinking. The facts behind Alcohol and how it affects the mind and body are clearly explained and become a great tool in being able to quit the booze. I can’t recommend it highly enough!!
Read full review

- Miss

A Cure if followed correctly

brilliant information, explained clearly and plainly, many insights into problem drinking, I shall be using them for the rest of my happier life!!!!!
Read full review

- john

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2017
  • Publisher: Samuel C Watts