Bradshaw On: The Family

  • by John Bradshaw
  • Narrated by Alan Bomar Jones
  • 10 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Based on the public television series of the same name, Bradshaw On: The Family is John Bradshaw's seminal work on the dynamics of families that has sold more than a million copies since its original publication in 1988. Here, you will discover the cause of emotionally impaired families. You will learn how unhealthy rules of behavior are passed down from parents to children, and the destructive effect this process has on our society. Using the latest family research and recovery material in this new edition, Bradshaw also explores the individual in both a family setting and a societal setting. He shows you ways to escape the tyranny of family-reinforced behavior traps---from addiction and co-dependency to loss of will and denial---and demonstrates how to make conscious choices that will transform your life and the lives of your loved ones. He helps you heal yourself and then, using what you have learned, helps you heal your family. Finally, Bradshaw extends this idea to our society: by returning yourself and your family to emotional health, you can heal the world in which you live. He helps you reenvision societal conflicts from the perspective of a global family, and shares with you the power of deep democracy: how the choices you make every day can affect---and improve---your world.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I will buy all the books of Bradshaw

Really really good! the author has a very wide and rich understanding in the area
Read full review

- Carmen

Not for the faint minded

You will learn bout yourself. Embrace the feeling that the book confronts in you. The're two exits from shame, One door leads to Humanity the great. The other leads to Humanity the lost. Those are my own terms. Do not (in my opinion) listen to this as an acedemic exercise as you will not feel the value.
Read full review

- Darragh

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-07-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio