How to See Yourself as You Really Are

  • by Jeffrey Hopkins, His Holiness the Dalai Lama
  • Narrated by Jeffrey Hopkins
  • 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In How to See Yourself as You Really Are, the world's foremost Buddhist leader teaches listeners how to recognize and dispel misguided notions of self and embrace the world from a more realistic and loving perspective.Step-by-step exercises help listeners shatter their false assumptions and ideas and see the world as it actually exists. His Holiness sets the stage for discovering the reality behind appearances. But getting past one's misconceptions is only a prelude to right action, and the final section describes how to harness the power of meditative concentration to the service of love, and vice versa, so that true altruistic enlightenment is attained.Enlivened by personal anecdotes and intimate accounts of the Dalai Lama's own life experiences, How to See Yourself as You Really Are is an inspirational and empowering guide to achieving self-awareness that can be enjoyed by spiritual seekers of all faiths.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Seeing yourself

This is hard to get your head around but I believe if we can then our world will be a much better place full of love and compassion
Read full review

- Roz

for the serious mind

If you know the way The Dalai lama writes this book won't be a surprise. if you are curious or already interested in Buddhism go ahead and get stuck in. This is not a book for the casual.

After the opening chapter the book begins a serious treatment of Buddhist psychology and how one practices Buddhist philosophy on a daily basis in the real world.

Don't expect anything g fluffy or light.

If you are seriously curious or already somewhat existed to Buddhism then you will find it very rich with depth and rewarding.

I found the delivery average but probably over time it will be of a real blessing. The speed and tone is good.
Read full review

- ian

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-12-2006
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio