If You Love Me

  • by Alice Keale, Jane Smith - contributor
  • Narrated by Penelope Rawlins
  • 6 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

'You said I was the perfect boyfriend. If you can prove you really love me, perhaps I can be that way again.'
This is the chilling true story of a woman trapped in a devastating relationship as she tries to prove her love - over and over again.
Within days of spending their first evening together, Alice and Joe were talking about getting married and spending the rest of their lives with each other. Everything about Joe seemed perfect, and Alice was the happiest she'd ever been.
Then one day Joe saw a message on her phone and discovered something that changed everything. Although it was from an old love, he ignored Alice's explanations and desperate pleas. And soon the violence and abuse began.
As she attempted to prove to Joe that he really was her world, Alice gave up everything that mattered to her, including her family, her friends and her job. But still it wasn't enough.
Then the 'challenges' started, and finally Alice dared to hope that this time, maybe this time, Joe might just believe she loved him.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Real story? No way!

I couldn't believe this was a true story and my jaw is still on the floor. I apologise for singing the 'Benny hill theme tune' when he made you run naked through the streets. I'm sorry l laughed at your stupidity at bowing to his every command . I take back the eye rolls l gave when you were offered help but you refused. I will never understand victims like this. If this was made into a film people wouldn't believe it was true as it seems so utterly far fetched, I would however like to hear HIS side of this story. The narrator's male character voices were so stupidly comical which didn't help me take it seriously.
Read full review

- Hazel

Not sure

I'm not sure who I was more angry at listening to this. First him, then her. It read like a novel, until the end - you'd want, you'd write, a better ending but this is how it happened. I think I'd have written it as a novel.
Read full review

- CateA

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-01-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited