Summary

'You said I was the perfect boyfriend. If you can prove you really love me, perhaps I can be that way again.'
This is the chilling true story of a woman trapped in a devastating relationship as she tries to prove her love - over and over again.
Within days of spending their first evening together, Alice and Joe were talking about getting married and spending the rest of their lives with each other. Everything about Joe seemed perfect, and Alice was the happiest she'd ever been.
Then one day Joe saw a message on her phone and discovered something that changed everything. Although it was from an old love, he ignored Alice's explanations and desperate pleas. And soon the violence and abuse began.
As she attempted to prove to Joe that he really was her world, Alice gave up everything that mattered to her, including her family, her friends and her job. But still it wasn't enough.
Then the 'challenges' started, and finally Alice dared to hope that this time, maybe this time, Joe might just believe she loved him.
©2017 Alice Keale with Jane Smith (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £8.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £8.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Hazel on 12-09-17

Real story? No way!

I couldn't believe this was a true story and my jaw is still on the floor. I apologise for singing the 'Benny hill theme tune' when he made you run naked through the streets. I'm sorry l laughed at your stupidity at bowing to his every command . I take back the eye rolls l gave when you were offered help but you refused. I will never understand victims like this. If this was made into a film people wouldn't believe it was true as it seems so utterly far fetched, I would however like to hear HIS side of this story. The narrator's male character voices were so stupidly comical which didn't help me take it seriously.

Read more Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By CateA on 31-01-17

Not sure

I'm not sure who I was more angry at listening to this. First him, then her. It read like a novel, until the end - you'd want, you'd write, a better ending but this is how it happened. I think I'd have written it as a novel.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Charlaine Hill on 04-03-18

This can't be a true story!

It's hard to believe that a man could scream obscenities to a woman while biting her, in public place, and have everyone just pretend to not see what's happening. Every time someone tries to help her, she lies to protect her abuser. During this time she sees several therapists, relates to them the abuses, but not one reports this to the police. I got so weary of hearing her beg for forgiveness, tell this abusive maniac how much she loves him and continue to think that he will suddenly change, I just about stopped listening. Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. The entire book is about this type of insane behavior.

Read more Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Lord Han moreno on 31-01-17

Very good read

Very good. It is a must to listen to this. I am kinda happy at the end she got out of the abuse.

Read more Hide me

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible Ltd.