The Art of Empathy

  • by Karla McLaren
  • Narrated by Karla McLaren
  • 6 hrs and 56 mins
  • Speech

Publisher's Summary

Some of us are natural-born empaths - those with an exceptional gift for feeling and understanding the emotions, circumstances, and needs of others. But empathy, teaches Karla McLaren, is a universal human skill that we can all learn to awaken and use wisely. With The Art of Empathy, you will learn, step-by-step, the art of experiencing through the eyes and hearts of those around you - and to connect with and support them most effectively. Drawing on insights spanning social psychology, current brain research, and traditional healing and spiritual wisdom, this acclaimed teacher and author shows us how to:

Discover and strengthen this natural social and emotional ability
Prepare for empathy training by learning to identify and regulate our emotions and boundaries
Move into the felt experience of others with authenticity and respect
Stay rejuvenated on the empathic path through grounding, healthy boundaries, and replenishing with joy
Improve our intimate relationships, parenting efforts, and workplace issues
Expand empathy into our communities and the natural world
As our social landscape and ways of connecting continue to shift and evolve rapidly, empathy may be the most essential skill for navigating our emotional and interpersonal lives. The Art of Empathy provides us with the insights and training to master its many dimensions.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very insightful :)

This audiobook is full of gems and applicable tools. At the same time is very easy to listen and engaging. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- Jezierski Michal

Loved everything about this

One of the best audiobooks I've listened to. Wonderful delivery from Karla, she's so warm and refreshing to hear, and her words were really valuable. I hadn't heard of her before but will look up her other books on the basis of this one.
Read full review

- Dog in a Flat Cap

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-10-2013
  • Publisher: Sounds True