The Invisible World

  • by John O'Donohue
  • Narrated by John O'Donohue
  • 3 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For the Celtic people of ancient Ireland, the natural world was a continuous prayer. Each mountain held a soul, each river a heart. This "Eucharist of nature" was living evidence of a divine worldview to which each Celt, as part of the "Great Circle", belonged. Like the fierce and loving people who beheld it, this sacred vision vanished with the coming of Christianity in the fifth century. Or did it?
In The Invisible World, scholar and poet John O'Donohue recovers Celtic spirituality's original mysteries, sharing practices and beliefs that enrich Ireland and its people to this day. For the Celts all life was sacred, yet they reserved their greatest reverence not for what they could see but for what they could not. Around them they sensed an "invisible world", the great unknown from which they came and the source of eternal wonder in their lives. Through prayer, O'Donohue teaches, we may enter directly into this secret immensity and escape the psychological prisons we create for ourselves.
Alive with loving scholarship and interwoven with prayers and poetry in the Celtic tradition, The Invisible World is an invitation to find freedom from your negativity and return your soul to the grace that is waiting unseen around you at this very moment.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Invibsible Worlds reviled.

They say that when you ask the universe for help and guidance it will find a way to communicate. And in my case well I found this wonderful book by John O'Donoughe. The Invisible World holds the truth and the insight to touch the heart and soul of anyone who listens/reads it.
It's teaching covers every thing from death to reincarnation explained
In such a beautiful way. It reveals and introduces the listener to their innermost and sacred self. Love and light to all who read/listen.
Read full review

- christine oliver

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-09-2015
  • Publisher: Sounds True