The Little Book of Common Sense Investing

  • by John C. Bogle
  • Narrated by Thom Pinto
  • 5 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Investing is all about common sense. Owning a diversified portfolio of stocks and holding it for the long term is a winner's game. Trying to beat the stock market is theoretically a zero-sum game (for every winner, there must be a loser), but after the substantial costs of investing are deducted, it becomes a loser's game. Common sense tells us, and history confirms, that the simplest and most efficient investment strategy is to buy and hold all of the nation's publicly held businesses at very low cost. The classic index fund that owns this market portfolio is the only investment that guarantees you your fair share of stock market returns. To learn how to make index investing work for you, there's no better mentor than legendary mutual-fund industry veteran John C. Bogle. Over the course of his long career, Bogle, founder of the Vanguard Group and creator of the world's first index mutual-fund, has relied primarily on index investing to help Vanguard's clients build substantial wealth. Now, with The Little Book of Common Sense Investing, he wants to help you do the same.
Filled with in-depth insights and practical advice, The Little Book of Common Sense Investing will show you how to incorporate this proven investment strategy into your portfolio. It will also change the very way you think about investing. Successful investing is not easy. (It requires discipline and patience.) But it is simple - for it's all about common sense.


What the Critics Say

"Bogle is rattling the status quo among the mutual-fund titans." ( Fortune)
"John C. Bogle...has the mind of an economist and the personality of a preacher." ( The Washington Post)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Extremely happy with it

Novice investor here. I found the book very concise and informative at any point. Well explained and easy to understand.
Read full review

- Nikola Petkov

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-02-2007
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio