Women Who Run with the Wolves

  • by Clarissa Pinkola Estes
  • Narrated by Clarissa Pinkola Estes
  • 2 hrs and 20 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

First published three years ago before the print edition of Women Who Run with the Wolves made publishing history, this original audio edition quickly became an underground best seller. For it's insights into the inner lives of women, it established Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes as one of the most important voices of our time in the fields of Jungian psychology, myth, and women's mysteries.Drawing from her work as a psychoanalyst and cantadora (keeper of old stories), Dr. Estes uses myths and folktales to illustrate how societies systematically strip away the feminine spirit. Through an exploration into the nature of the wild woman archetype, Dr. Estes helps listeners rediscover and free their own wild nature.


What the Critics Say

"Her widely researched study offers usable advice for modern women." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Too short

Any additional comments?

This was far shorter than I expected. It was not clear just how abridged it was. Having read the book many years ago I was looking forward to hearing the depth of the work but it stopped after two chapters. I wouldn't choose to pay this much for such a short version. Very disapointed.

Read full review

- isla

Not too sure.

I agree with individual freedom, but to paint marriage as a beautiful cage of rotting death.
One story describes man as a being who collects the bones of women he has married and killed ultimately.

I prefer unity and not separation.

Being wild and free is good, but motherhood and parenting means a natural progression of life, dishes are also a form of creativity, you are creating for your loved ones and home... If you want to twiddle reeds in the garden and be wild when creativity is needed for everyone around you... Then your just a adult child, not a wild female.
Read full review

- Brigitte De La Pava

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-05-2009
  • Publisher: Sounds True