• His Majesty's Hope

  • A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 3
  • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
  • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
  • Series: Maggie Hope, Book 3
  • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 14-05-13
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Random House Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 (11 ratings)

Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.
World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.
©2013 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2013 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £26.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £26.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Lesley on 11-02-18

fabulous book

What made the experience of listening to His Majesty's Hope the most enjoyable?

enjoyed the character of Maggie Hope with several twists and turns in the story line. the narration was good and I found the narrator easy to listen too.

What did you like best about this story?

its flow and easy listening. I like all the bits of history thrown into the mix although I'm not sure all of them a factually correct. But that doesn't matter to me as I'm enjoying the story line.

Any additional comments?

I loved the book and I'm enjoying the series so far. I'm looking forward to listening to the next one.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Carol on 17-06-13

A YA Mystery that Isn't... Quite

Would you try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal and/or Susan Duerden?

Probably not.

Has His Majesty's Hope turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. This series just doesn't measure up.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narrator has a pleasant voice, and does accents well. If she wanted to imitate a German accent, though, she should have researched it a bit better. Her "German" comes across a bit too much like what you'd hear in a cartoon. A little too much V for W and little else that sounds German. Her narration tends to have a sing song quality that could be improved on.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from His Majesty's Hope?

The decision to include a PG sex scene was awkward and didn't fit. This series seems to be aimed at YA, and the sex neither added to the characterization nor moved the plot along.

Any additional comments?

The author has obviously done a lot of research on swing dance and jazz. She includes too much, though. Describing a swing dance would be fine, and in keeping with the book... Including a long list of dance moves was out of place.

The book doesn't seem to be able to decide what audience is wanted. The writing style and characterization is more Young Adult than adult, but the author includes a homosexual character and his affairs as well as an awkward sex scene. Sex can be included in YA if it is handled properly, but this scene comes across as awkward and self conscious.

The characterization and action remind me of the Nancy Drew books I read as a child. I have read three by this author, because I hoped the awkwardness of the first one might have been a fluke. The author writes smooth, easy to read prose, but the characters are rather flat and the plot is very predictable.

Read more Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Leigh Billingsley on 16-06-13

Liked the series but....

Really loved the story premise but hoped they would bring back the first narrator...but they stayed with the second and, while she has a pretty voice, her "acting" is very limited. The narrator has such a huge impact on how the story is viewed, and it becomes difficult to separate the two.....

Read more Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all reviews