A History of the World Since 9/11

  • by Dominic Streatfeild
  • Narrated by Paul Thornley
  • 13 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In A History of the World Since 9/11 Dominic Streatfeild expertly combines history, biography and investigative journalism to show how a massacre on a clear September day in 2001 has touched the lives of millions of people around the world.
In a series of brilliantly interlinked chapters he describes how an Afghani wedding party; and a gas station proprietor in Texas; and a planespotter in Mallorca have been affected, sometimes devastatingly, by the American response to the attacks on the Twin Towers. Streatfeild illustrates how the sleep of reason and good sense in successive US administrations post-9/11 has brought forth the monsters of extraordinary rendition, Guantanamo Bay, extrajudicial execution and wholesale contravention of international law. This is a work that informs as it entertains and induces outrage as it inspires.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gripping, enlightning, shocking and a must listen

This is a fascinating insight into how the 9/11 terror attacks affected people around the world; how indivduals' lifes were affected and how governments used the shock and fear to push through certain policies. Dominic Streatfeild's writing is gripping - almost like a thriller, and Paul Thornley's narration brings the stories to life, making this a 'unputtdownable' listen. This is a must for anyone who has an interest in the world we live in today - anyone really!
Read full review

- MissPolkadotty

A History of the World Since 9/11

This is a good listen, but , its dark too. Dont be surprised at finding yourself shocked and appalled at whats been done in the name of the coalition forces. That said its an eye opener and a very powerful read. You will come out of this book as impatial as you probably started. Its well written , its well read , excellently so in fact. Get it !
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Ltd