• by Michael Esslinger
  • Narrated by Eric Medler
  • 14 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alcatraz - A Definitive History of the Penitentiary Years is a comprehensive reference that breaks away from traditional tourist-style books. This audiobook is the result of years of intensive research. Historian Michael Esslinger thoroughly details the prominent events, inmates, and life inside the most infamous prison in American history. His research includes hundreds of hours examining actual Alcatraz inmate files (including rare original documents from Al Capone, Machine Gun Kelly, and over a hundred others), exploring the prison grounds from the rooftop to the waterfront to help retrace events and escape routes, and conducting interviews with various former inmates and guards. His study has resulted in detailed accounts of both the 1946 and 1962 escape attempts. Hear detailed narratives of Alcatraz's most notable inmates, who included Robert Stroud (Birdman of Alcatraz), Al Capone, Machine Gun Kelly, Frank Morris, the Anglin Brothers, Doc Barker, Joe Cretzer, Bernard Coy, Miran Thompson, Sam Shockley, and many-many others.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-01-2015
  • Publisher: Ocean View Publishing