Alistair Cooke: The Essential Letters from America: 2000 - 2004

  • by Alistair Cooke
  • Narrated by Alistair Cooke
  • 4 hrs and 40 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

This is the final volume of the definitive decade-by-decade collection of Alistair Cooke's Letters from America - the seminal and longest running personal commentary on the radio.
This release focuses on the turbulent times in the US of the 2000s, and the history of the decade is explored through Alistair Cooke's unique broadcasts. The 16 letters include Running Mates and Carpet Baggers, The Day of Judgment and Paralysis by Analysis - all centred upon the famously indecisive Presidential election of 2000 between George W Bush and Al Gore. The Origin of the Continental Blow-out, America's Day of Terror and America on Standby are all focussed upon the 9/11 attacks on the Twin Towers. In a lighter vein, Messiah at Christmas talks about Handel's Messiah and his memories of hearing it performed during his Lancashire childhood.
And Alistair Cooke's final Letter From America, broadcast on 20th February 2004, reflects on President Bush' difficulties as the situation in Iraq unravelled.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic to reunite with Alistair Cooke

Alister Cooke's Letters from America were essential listening in my house on a Sunday morning. His unique style of reporting & delivery are very special. It's hard to believe that in this final batch of letters he was in his 90s his voice is so strong. Because of his longevity was able to bring memories of WW1 alongside 9/11. He was in NY on that fateful day. Essential listening.
Read full review

- mary

The greatest broadcaster ever!

Quite simply the greatest broadcaster ever and this volume of reflections is a perfect example of his craft. Every word is given individual weight and interest. It has been said many times by many people but it deserves to be said again. Alaistair Cooke NEVER wrote a poor sentance. Simply magnificent.
Read full review

- Paul

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-03-2010
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited