All Hands Down

  • by Kenneth Sewell, Jerome Preisler
  • Narrated by Malcolm Hillgartner
  • 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Forty years ago, in May 1968, the submarine USS Scorpion sank in mysterious circumstances with a loss of 99 lives. The tragedy occurred during the height of the Cold War between the United States and the Soviet Union. Now, drawing on hours of exclusive interviews as well as recently declassified United States and Soviet intelligence files, Kenneth Sewell and Jerome Preisler explain what really happened to Scorpion. When a Soviet sub mysteriously sank near Hawaii, hundreds of miles from its normal station, Soviet naval leaders mistakenly believed that a U.S. submarine was to blame. Using a cryptographic unit acquired from the North Koreans to decipher classified Navy communications, they set a trap for revenge. All Hands Down explains how the plan was executed and why the truth of the attack has been officially denied for 40 years.


What the Critics Say

"[A] convincing argument....few will be able to resist the juicy details offered about this half-forgotten disaster and its aftermath....A satisfying historical whodunit, redolent with Cold War paranoia and tragedy." ( Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting, but not what it purports to be

This book trumpets itself as an expose of a cold-war sensation; the deliberate sinking of a US submarine by the Soviets. In actual fact, there is next to nothing about that hypothesis, which is referred to as undeniable and yet no evidence is even hinted at for such a radical claim. There is merit in this book, though. As a narrative of what it was like on submarines during the cold war, and for the families of those men in the late '60s, it is a fine testament, brought to life with real empathy. Nevertheless, the sensationalist promise of this book is, perhaps inevitably, not fulfilled, but surprisingly no attempt is even made to do so.
Read full review

- Derrick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-05-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.