Black Against Empire

  • by Joshua Bloom, Waldo E. Martin Jr.
  • Narrated by Ron Butler
  • 18 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Oakland, California, in 1966, community college students Bobby Seale and Huey Newton armed themselves, began patrolling the police, and promised to prevent police brutality. Unlike the Civil Rights Movement that called for full citizenship rights for blacks within the US, the Black Panther Party rejected the legitimacy of the US government and positioned itself as part of a global struggle against American imperialism. In the face of intense repression, the Party flourished, becoming the center of a revolutionary movement with powerful allies around the world.
Black Against Empire is the first comprehensive overview and analysis of the history and politics of the Black Panther Party. The authors analyze key political questions, such as why so many young black people across the country risked their lives for the revolution, why the Party grew most rapidly during the height of repression, and why allies abandoned the Party at its peak of influence.
Bold, engrossing, and richly detailed, this book cuts through the mythology and obfuscation, revealing the political dynamics that drove the explosive growth of this revolutionary movement and its disastrous unraveling.


What the Critics Say

"A prodigiously researched work, utilizing academic literature, personal memoir, and conversations with former Black Panther members and associates...." ( Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

just the facts.

although it is a well trodden road. this is a well researched and concise price of work.
Read full review

- Aston Jones

Gives another insight of the Panthers

This was a very gripping book that gave in my opinion a balanced view of the positive and negative aspects of The Panthers. The narration was wonderful, all I can say is that I would recommend this book for anybody who wants to gain a greater understanding The Panthers.
Read full review

- Michael Gayle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-04-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio