Chernobyl 01:23:40

  • by Andrew Leatherbarrow
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • 6 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At 01:23:40 on April 26th 1986, Alexander Akimov pressed the emergency shutdown button at Chernobyl's fourth nuclear reactor. It was an act that forced the permanent evacuation of a city, killed thousands, and crippled the Soviet Union. The event spawned decades of conflicting, exaggerated, and inaccurate stories.
This book, the result of five years of research, presents an accessible but comprehensive account of what really happened - from the desperate fight to prevent a burning reactor core from irradiating eastern Europe, to the self-sacrifice of the heroic men who entered fields of radiation so strong that machines wouldn't work, to the surprising truth about the legendary "Chernobyl diver", all the way through to the USSR's final show-trial. The historical narrative is interwoven with a story of the author's own spontaneous journey to Ukraine's still-abandoned city of Pripyat and the wider Chernobyl Zone.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting content but terrible delivery

Any additional comments?

If you are interested in Chernobyl then this is certainly an interesting listen, but for me it was really spoiled by the terrible narration which I found really annoying, especially as the guy couldn't really pronounce Chernobyl! Repeatedly hearing cheer-knob-eel becomes pretty frustrating in the end.The description of the guys visit to the exclusion zone struck a chord with me as it turns out he visited just months after I was there myself the first time round, and its interesting to hear his take on things.It also brings together some interesting information and facts from other sources, but as the author states many books on the Chernobyl disaster contain the odd 'fact' which is not 100% accurate, I think this is also true of this book too, but it does not detract from what I found to be an otherwise good book.

Read full review

- Rob

great read/listen

for his first book it's great, well written and thought out. enjoyed every chapter. interesting facts and story's that have been researched well. The author is also objective and non-biased.

recommend to anyone interested in this disaster or any atomic one and even man made
Read full review

- Sean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-10-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio