• by Bob Drogin
  • Narrated by Erik Singer
  • 6 hrs and 15 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Curveball answers the crucial question of the Iraq war: How and why was America's intelligence so catastrophically wrong? In this dramatic and explosive audiobook, award-winning Los Angeles Times reporter Bob Drogin delivers a narrative that takes us to Europe, the Middle East, and deep inside the CIA to find the truth - the truth about the lies and self-deception that led us into a military and political nightmare. In 1999 a mysterious Iraqi applies for political asylum in Munich. The young chemical engineer offers compelling testimony of Saddam Hussein's secret program to build weapons of mass destruction. He claims that the dictator has constructed germ factories on trucks, creating a deadly hell on wheels. His grateful German hosts pass his account to their CIA counterparts but deny the Americans access to their superstar informant. The Americans nevertheless give the defector his unforgettable code name: Curveball.
Curveball reads like an investigative spy thriller. Fast-paced and engrossing, it is an inside story of intrigue and incompetence at the highest levels of government. At a time when Americans demand answers, this authoritative audiobook provides them with clarity and conviction.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fascinating story - But really worrying!

What made the experience of listening to Curveball the most enjoyable?

Bob Drogin tells the story well - not even letting the 'Good Guys' entirely off the hook! The facts have been meticulously researched and carefully laid out for the reader, layer by layer, so that you see how the dreadful truth became clear to all - even those who blinded themselves to the truth.

What about Erik Singer’s performance did you like?

Erik read very well - He had clearly studied the material and his pronunciation of the plethora of difficult names was excellent and clear (even to us English!).

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-09-2007
  • Publisher: Random House Audio