Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution

  • by Steven Levy
  • Narrated by Mike Chamberlain
  • 20 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Steven Levy's classic book traces the exploits of the computer revolution's original hackers - those brilliant and eccentric nerds from the late 1950s through the early '80s who took risks, bent the rules, and pushed the world in a radical new direction. With updated material from noteworthy hackers such as Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg, Richard Stallman, and Steve Wozniak, Hackers is a fascinating story that begins in early computer research labs and leads to the first home computers.
Levy profiles the imaginative brainiacs who found clever and unorthodox solutions to computer engineering problems. They had a shared sense of values, known as "the hacker ethic" that still thrives today. Hackers captures a seminal period in recent history when underground activities blazed a trail for today's digital world, from MIT students finagling access to clunky computer-card machines to the DIY culture that spawned the Altair and the Apple II.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyable and inspiring

I really enjoyed this, brought a smile to my face at times but also found it quiet sad that many of these men have not been recognised for their contributions unlike Steve Jobs for example. Being a programmer myself I found this very inspirational and found myself wanting to code after a marathon session listening to it.

I do however feel that it would have been nice have at least mentioned the British hackers that made many things possible for these US counterparts.

On the whole, a GREAT listen!
Read full review

- Martin & Nina

A brilliant story of computer history

Definitely recommended for anyone with an interest in the history of modern computing. whilst it felt slow to start, it soon picks up and provides a great insight into the lives of those responsible for technology today
Read full review

- Matt

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-11-2015
  • Publisher: Audiobooks.com Publishing