Heaven's Command: An Imperial Progress - Pax Britannica, Volume 1

  • by Jan Morris
  • Narrated by Roy McMillan
  • 7 hrs and 29 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Pax Britannica trilogy is Jan Morris’s epic story of the British Empire from the accession of Queen Victoria to the death of Winston Churchill. It is a towering achievement: informative, accessible, entertaining, and written with all her usual bravura. Heaven’s Command, the first volume, takes us from the crowning of Queen Victoria in 1837 to the Diamond Jubilee in 1897. The story moves effortlessly across the world, from the English shores to Fiji, Zululand, the Canadian prairies, and beyond. This is totally gripping history!
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

McMillan presents a well done narration of the opening volume of the Pax Britannica trilogy, a history of Britain’s empire building from the reign of Queen Victoria to the death of Winston Churchill. Morris acknowledges that this is at first too positive in its attitude toward the colonizers. As listeners hear the first section, full of heroic battles read in an excited voice by Roy McMillan, they might agree. However, Morris doesn't avoid British atrocities like the "Devil's Wind" reprisals for an uprising in India or the murderous violence toward native Tasmanians. McMillan's reading of this volume captures the energy of battle and the optimism that Britons in the Victorian Age felt toward their expansion and technological feats.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-04-2011
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks