Heaven's Command : Pax Brittanica

  • by Jan Morris
  • Narrated by Roy McMillan
  • Series: Pax Brittanica
  • 20 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Pax Britannica trilogy is Jan Morris’s epic story of the British Empire from the accession of Queen Victoria to the death of Winston Churchill. It is a towering achievement: informative, accessible, entertaining and written with all her usual bravura. Heaven’s Command, the first volume, takes us from the crowning of Queen Victoria in 1837 to the Diamond Jubilee in 1897. The story moves effortlessly across the world, from the English shores to Fiji, Zululand, the Canadian prairies and beyond. Totally gripping history!
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very entertaining

An enjoyable voyage through the history of empire building, jumping from country to country with enough detail to get a good understanding without getting bogged down in it. The book probably does pick and choose the most sensational parts of the imperial progress, but often this whets the appetite to read more on a particular subject that by necessity the author could only recount at a fairly high level. The book is not only about the battles of empire, but includes fascinating sections, for example, on the great explorers
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Atmospheric history

Would you consider the audio edition of Heaven's Command to be better than the print version?

Have not read the print version

Have you listened to any of Roy McMillan’s other performances? How does this one compare?

The narrators' sparse use of accents was used to good effect and it was nice for a change to hear a British rather than an American accent in an audible book!

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I thought the chapter on the demise of the aboriginal Tasmanians was very poigneint.

Read full review

- Mr. P. A. Gower

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-05-2011
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks