Following up Grand Expectations in the Oxford History of the United States, Restless Giant provides a crisp, concise assessment of the 27 years between the resignation of Richard Nixon and the election of George W. Bush, in a sweeping narrative that seamlessly weaves together social, cultural, political, economic, and international developments.
In exploring a wide range of cultural, social, and economic concerns, Patterson and engrossing narrator Robert Fass show how the persistence of racial tensions, high divorce rates, alarm over crime, and urban decay all led many writers to portray this era as one of decline.
Restless Giant is the 11th volume of the Oxford History of the United States, which includes three Pulitzer Prize winners, a New York Times best seller, and winners of the Bancroft and Parkman Prizes. The Atlantic Monthly has praised it as “state of the art” and “the most distinguished series in American historical scholarship.”
©2005 James T. Patterson (P)2010 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £22.79

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £22.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Anthony on 11-02-17

The US from 1972 to 2000: A Review

Patterson delivers here an analysis of US Politics from Watergate to the 2000 Election Debacle. Patterson does not isolate one Administration from another. Instead, he gives the impression of a continual flow of events, independent of each other, but linked nonetheless. I believe this work is also non-partisan, offering a balanced criticism of Democrat as well as Republican Presidencies.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By J. Lee on 15-08-13

Too Soon? Maybe, but still a good listen

History is best looked at from a great distance. We are still so close to these events that political passions can sway our opinions. Mr. Patterson does a fine job of chronicling this most recent period of our history, but I could not help but notice that he had a horse in the race. I am not saying that it is a bad thing or a good thing but that it just is. He may be a little too proud of his progressive cohorts, but I suppose he can't be blamed for that that. Having noted that, I enjoyed the book very much. Anybody who loves history will enjoy it as well.
The author touches on most of the important events during the period. The Nixon episode is very interesting. Every time I hear about it from a different angle I get just a bit better understanding of it. This book also shines a revelatory light on our world just before everything changed after 9/11. That alone made it worth the listen.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Laura on 03-05-16

Excellent Big Picture Perspective

Worth taking the time to listen! Informative and helpful in seeing not only the micro happenings, but the history and situation leading up to and allowing the presidents and their parties to exercise power.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews