The Age of Faith, Volume 4 : The Story of Civilization

  • by Will Durant
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki
  • Series: The Story of Civilization
  • 61 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A History of Medieval Civilization (Christian, Islamic, and Judaic) from Constantine to Dante, AD 325 - 1300
The fourth volume in Will Durant's Pulitzer Prize-winning series, The Age of Faith surveys the medieval achievements and modern significance of Christian, Islamic, and Judaic life and culture. Like the other volumes in the Story of Civilization series, this is a self-contained work, which at the same time fits into a comprehensive history of mankind. It includes the dramatic stories of St. Augustine, Hypatia, Justinian, Mohammed, Harun al-Rashid, Charlemagne, William the Conqueror, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Richard the Lionheart, Saladin, Maimonides, St. Francis, St. Thomas Aquinas, Roger Bacon, and many others, all in the perspective of integrated history. The greatest love stories in literature - of Héloise and Abélard, of Dante and Beatrice - are here retold with enthralling scholarship.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wow ... but "wow"

Any additional comments?

A tour de force. This book covers a fascinating period of history. It does so in a tone and style that kept me gripped. I know this is a strange way to describe the eras of faith, but the rich subject matter combined with the excellence of reading kept me hooked throughout. 61 hours was not enough!

This 12 volume sequence of books by Will Durant is rich in content and extremely well put together. I categorise audio books into those I can listen to whilst working (computer programming) and those that must be reserved for non-invasive listening. These volumes definitely sit in the latter category, and are to be savoured. I found them particularly good when doing housework, commuting or merely lazing.

A book I will definitely re-listen at some point. Marvellous!

Read full review

- S. Hunt

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-05-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.